Finding the perfect fit: Jeans on the Market

Girls, girls, GIRLS!

How many of you struggle to find the perfect fit when it comes to jeans? I hear you!

No brand is the same. I could be a size 10 in one shop, and a 14 in another. Consistency is key, and with Jeans this rule does not apply!

I thought I’d show you some Jeans that I am loving at the moment. Some of these Jeans, I’ve actually bought and all opinions are my own (lol!). These Jeans I’m showing you are all from Brands that are relatively consistent with Sizing and Quality.

If you follow me on Instagram, you would have seen me go on and on about these one pair of Nasty Gal Jeans, that they no longer stock anymore. So many of you have messaged me about these Jeans, so I thought I’d show you some other brands that do similar styles.

Here’s me wearing the Nasty Gal Jeans…

I love the length and the fit – although I wish I had sized down because they’re very big! I have to tumble dry them after every wear but I love them nevertheless.

I’m also 5ft3, so I have to wear Heels or platform shoes If I don’t want them to drag on the floor.

Because these ones are sold out, I found some very similar ones on Missy Empire that  I thought I’d share:

Perrie Denim Mid Wash Jeans – £31.20 

Missy Empire Perrie Jeans

These seem to look very similar. They are a little more expensive than the Nasty Gal Jeans, however.

What I love about these Jeans, is that they can be styled in so many different ways. As they’ve got the slit in the sides, they are quite a ‘dressier’ style of Jean to say, Mom Jeans.

You can style them with:

  • Black Bodysuit, Heeled Mules, small Tote Bag and a Blazer
  • White Tee, Leather Jacket, Platform Trainers
  • White Shirt, Perspex Heels and a Clutch

If you follow me on Instagram, you’ll see these Jeans are a regular feature. I always style them differently too!

Mom Jeans. Lash Extra High Mom Jeans by WeekDay – £40 

Weekday Mom Jeans

I recently came across these absolutely gorgeous Mom Jeans on Weekday; a Brand I have never really shopped with.

What I love about these Jeans is the shape, and the wash. This colour Jean is perfect to style with pretty much everything and anything.

If you were going out you could style it with:

  • Done up Nude Blazer
  • Black Clutch
  • Nude Heels

OR

  • White Shirt
  • Perspex Heels

If you wanted to dress them down you could style them with:

  • Grey tight fitting Tee tucked in
  • Oversized Blazer or Leather Jacket
  • Loafers / Trainers

There are so many ways you can style Jeans like this and I am here for it! Again, if you follow me on Instagram, you’ll see all of my outfit posts. These range from dressy to casual, and are always from affordable brands.

 

Newlook Frayed High Waist Mom Shorts – £19.99 

 

Now we’re coming into warmer months, my crave to wear Shorts and get my Legs out is getting bigger and bigger.

I’ve always struggled with Denim Shorts, but I really like these ones above from Newlook. They’re super high waist, and I looooove the frayed detailing at the bottom. For £19.99, I think these are amazing.

I’ve bought Newlook Jeans before; their sizing is really good and I find the material of their Jeans aren’t as rough and hard as say, Topshop Mom Shorts. I have a small waist and quite large thighs, so finding Jeans that fit both parts of my body is super hard, especially with Jeans that have no elasticity.

These, again, can be styled in so many different ways; from dressy to casual.

Dressy:

  • Pair these with a White Shirt and Heeled Mules and you’re good to go!
  • You could also style this with a plain Racer Back Body Suit and a chunky Belt for some chic vibes!

Casual:

Because the fray detailing is probably the part that would stand out the most, for a casual look you really wont need to make much effort.

  • Pair with a White or Grey tight fitting T-Shirt, a Wicker Bag and some Flatform Sandals and you’ve got yourself a killer Summer’s day outfit.

 

Missguided Blue Co-Ord Riot Highwaisted Mom Jeans – £20

Missguided Mom Jeans

I think it’s pretty clear on this blog, that my love for Skinny Jeans has long gone.

Since Mom Jeans came on the scene, I completely ditched all sighting of Skinny Jeans. I’m not saying there’s anything wrong with Skinny Jeans, but with my body shape and preference, I prefer the way Mom Jeans look and feel. I also think they’re a little bit more dressier than normal Skinny Jeans?

I regularly shop on Missguided. I think their clothes are reasonably priced, of a good quality, and I’ve never struggled with sizing like I have with other brands like PLT or Boohoo.

I really like these jeans, they’re quite similar to the Weekday ones – just a little darker. Like the image shows, these Jeans look so lovely with lighter accent colours like Nude. Therefore, I’d probably style with:

  • Nude Body Suit and Nude Heels
  • Nude or Cream Tee, a Leather Jacket and Loafers
  • An oversized Light Grey or Nude Hoodie with Trainers
  • A Neutral colour Blazer, done up and some barely there Heels

As Primark sadly do not have a Website, I cannot show you. However, I would really recommend the Vintage Mom Jeans. They’re the best Jeans I own, and fit perfectly. They have a range of colours to choose from, and the quality seems pretty darn good for £13. 

Saving the best ’til last. OK. So, if 23 Year Old me told my 15 Year Old self, that Kick Flare Jeans are in fashion in 2020, I’d have laughed. I used to HATE when my Mum would dress me in Kick Flare Jeans, and now I’m thinking WOW… I’ve been a style Icon since my early teens.

As you’ll see on my Instagram, I love Black Kick Flare Jeans. I think they are SO flattering and again, can be styled in lots of different ways.

Here’s how I’ve styled them on my Outfit Page:

I’ve styled these for a range of occasions, but you really can dress Kick Flares up or down.

For a dressy look you could style them with:

  • Bodysuit
  • Blazer
  • Heeled Mules

For a casual look you could style them with:

  • Plain T-Shirt
  • Leather Jacket
  • Pointy Boots / Trainers

The one’s I’m wearing were only £10 from the Debenhams Red Herring Range, but these have sold out. So, here’s a link to some Newlook ones that are very similar.


There you have it dolls. These are my favourite style Jeans that I wear and love at the moment.

All of the Jeans here are super affordable, and really easy to style in different ways.

Hope you enjoyed the read.

Lots of Love,

Jess Loves X

 

 

Leave a comment